Health

Best time on a treadmill

After 15 years, today, I ran 5 kilometers. I was on a tread mill belt and not on terra firma – like I used to in “those days” when I ran before my Karate practice sessions.

I walked 500 m in 5 minutes to warm up. After 5 minutes, I started to jog at 8 kmph, slowly picked up speed in steps to 11 kmph in steps. As pain set in after 15 minutes of running, I reduced my speed in steps to 10 kmph, 9.5 kmph, and so on till I was running the last 500 m at 8.5 kmph. The whole thing lasted 32 minutes and 19 seconds and the belt had rolled 5000 m. When I crossed 5010 m, I hit the cool down button and dropped to 6.8 kmph. I cooled down by walking 420 m in 5 minutes.

It was the first time in years that I had run non-stop for 5 km. On earlier occasions where I’d run 5 km non-stop, I’d not timed myself. So this automatically became my personal best.

When I stepped off the treadmill, my calves where still beating to the rhythm of my heart. I could feel pain and I sat on the large steel frame of a rowing machine panting for a few minutes.

My instructor didn’t even seem to notice. He walked up to me and said, “Enough of rest. Now go pick the barbells, do four sets of 12 reps each and then do 3 sets with dumbells and wait for me”. When I hit the shower, it looked like another day at the gym. But now I feel good about it, despite my aching legs.

Leave a Reply

