General

Fixboot

I haven’t really laid my hand on a decent computer in years.

I’m still stuck with a Compaq Presario 5000 I bought in 2001. Despite a miniscule 40 GB disk space, I multiboot with GRUB to Suse 10.1 or Win XP.

Though slow, all was well till the BSOD appeared informing of a invalid boot partition in windows. My overloaded windows wouldn’t boot even in safe mode.

Lazily, I lived for a week on Linux. Then the day came when I needed Windows. As I could still see my Windows files when on Linux, I decided only to fix the boot sector. Used the fixboot command from the recovery CD to rewrite my windows boot sector.

I got lucky. The BSOD was gone. The data loss was zero. I happily multiboot again.

Fixboot can be a disk saver.

Fixboot writes a new partition boot sector to the system partition. The fixboot command is only available when you are using the Recovery Console. Usage : fixboot [drive]

Leave a Reply

