Lyrics

Bob Dylan – Knocking on heavens door

Who hasn’t sung Knocking on Heaven’s door?
Latest I know is Avril Lavigne. Many others have as well…Guns and Roses, Byrds, Eric Clapton, Bon Jovi, Aerosmith even Roger Water’s got an unreleased verion.

Even I’ve sung it… in college, with guitar junkies playing their instruments as we walked on the streets at 2 am in a drizzle on our way from hostel to the main gate in an adventure to find masala tea and masal vadai.

There is no denying that it is a special song.

But it has taken me 32 years of living on this planet to lay my hand on the Bob Dylan original, yesterday. Knocking on heaven’s door in Dylan’s characteristic half talking half singing voice sure stuck awe.

Starting yesterday, I am among the people who have the complete discography of Bob Dylan. I wish the education system was flexible enough to allow an engineer to pursue a Doctorate in Music. I only wish I find like minded friends to share and document his master pieces.

Is there some one who is willing to write a book on the “revolutionary, mysterious, ingenious and completely inspirational musician, poet and artist” with me? Did you know that in every langauage there are  Bob Dylan wannabes?

There is much more perspective to Bob Dylan than what can be covered in a Ph.D. thesis. 
eg:  1 2 3 4 5 6 7  8 9

Led Zep gave the Stairway to Heaven,  Dylan knocked on it, who is going to break it open?

Lyrics to Knocking on heavens door
Mama, take this badge off of me
I can’t use it anymore.
It’s gettin’ dark, too dark for me to see
I feel like I’m knockin’ on heaven’s door.

Knock, knock, knockin’ on heaven’s door
Knock, knock, knockin’ on heaven’s door
Knock, knock, knockin’ on heaven’s door
Knock, knock, knockin’ on heaven’s door

Mama, put my guns in the ground
I can’t shoot them anymore.
That long black cloud is comin’ down
I feel like I’m knockin’ on heaven’s door.

Knock, knock, knockin’ on heaven’s door
Knock, knock, knockin’ on heaven’s door
Knock, knock, knockin’ on heaven’s door
Knock, knock, knockin’ on heaven’s door

One thought on “Bob Dylan – Knocking on heavens door

Leave a Reply

