Lyrics

Lets twist again

This one is really really really precious.

The time span between the first time I heard this song and the second time I heard this song was 17 years.

Just after I completed listening to this song on vinyl tape, I discovered that the tape had got cut. I made up my mind to find this song again. I tried and I tried and I tried and almost forgot about it.  It is amazing how little english oldies are available in India. Then years later, I found the song. It was indeed a joyous moment for me. To me this is the greatest twist song ever made – I haven’t listened to many twist songs anyway.

I felt young and was twisting.  I looped in Winamp a good 7 times, before I felt satiated.
Ah ! The joy and relief !

The joy of removing the mental block that I didn’t have this song to listen to whenever I wanted it.

Its a pity that only a miniscule fraction of the world even knows about this song.
People, dont turn your back to the good old things.

The song is by Chubby Checker (not Cheeker).  See the official Chubby Checker site
The name was wrongly printed as Chubby Cheeker on the cassette cover I first found it.
For 17 years I thought the name was Chubby Cheeker.

Lyrics to this song available on most sites are incomplete.
Here is the complete version.

Lyrics to Lets twist again

COME ON EVERYBODY
CLAP YOUR HANDS
ALL YOU’RE LOOKING GOOD

I’M GONNA SING MY SONG
IT WON’T TAKE LONG
WE’RE GONNA DO THE TWIST
AND IT GOES LIKE THIS

COME ON LETS TWIST AGAIN
LIKE WE DID LAST SUMMER
COME ON LETS TWIST AGAIN
LIKE WE DID LAST YEAR

DO YOU REMEMBER WHEN
THINGS WERE REALLY HUMMIN
COME ON LET’S TWIST AGAIN
TWISTIN TIME IS HERE

CHORUS
ROUND AND ROUND AND UP AND DOWN WE GO AGAIN
OH BABY MAKE ME KNOW YOU LOVE ME SO THEN

COME ON LETS TWIST AGAIN
LIKE WE DID LAST SUMMER
COME ON LET’S TWIST AGAIN
TWISTIN TIME IS HERE
 

WHO’S THAT FLYIN UP THERE
IS IT A BIRD  (CHORUS) NO
IS IT A PLANE (CHORUS) NO
IS IT A TWISTER (CHORUS) YES

TWIST AGAIN,
LIKE WE DID LAST SUMMER
COME ON LETS TWIST AGAIN
LIKE WE DID LAST YEAR

DO YOU REMEMBER WHEN
THINGS WERE REALLY HUMMIN
COME ON LET’S TWIST AGAIN
TWISTIN TIME IS HERE

CHORUS
ROUND AND ROUND AND UP AND DOWN WE GO AGAIN
OH BABY MAKE ME KNOW YOU LOVE ME SO THEN

TWIST AGAIN,
LIKE WE DID LAST SUMMER
COME ON LETS TWIST AGAIN
LIKE WE DID LAST YEAR

COME ON LETS TWIST AGAIN
TWISTING TIME IS HERE

Leave a Reply

