Lyrics

Mocking bird’s hill

This song was perhaps written in the 1800s.

There is perhaps no telling how many musicians have sung it.
I listened first to a version sung in 1946 by Mary Ford and Les Paul.
Soon I got to listen to another version sung the same year by Patti Page.
Needless to say they both had completely different tunes.
I liked the sharpness and quickness of Les Paul’s recording over the flowing voice of Patti Page. But what stood out was a song that lent itself to be sung in many different ways.

It’s curious that no one seems to be singing that portion of the song about buying a mule.
I guess they consider it uncool.
Anyways, here is to another great song.

Lyrics to the Mocking Bird’s Hill

When the sun in the morning peeps over the hill,
And kisses the roses around my window sill,
Then my heart fills with gladness when I hear the trill
Of the birds in the treetops on Mockin’ Bird Hill.

Tra la la, tweedle dee dee dee
It gives me a thrill,
To wake up in the morning
To the mockin’ bird’s trill.

Tra la la tweedle dee dee dee
There’s peace and good will;
You’re welcome as the flowers
On Mockin’ Bird Hill

Got a three-cornered plow and an acre to till
And a mule that I bought for a ten-dollar bill
There’s a tumble-down shack and a rusty ol’ mill
But it’s my Home Sweet Home up on Mockin’ Bird Hill.

Tra la la, tweedle dee dee dee
It gives me a thrill,
To wake up in the morning
To the mockin’ bird’s trill.

Tra la la tweedle dee dee dee
There’s peace and good will;
You’re welcome as the flowers
On Mockin’ Bird Hill

When it’s late in the evening I climb up the hill
And survey all my kingdom while everything’s still.
Only me and the sky and an ol’ whippoorwill
Singin’ songs in the twilight on Mockin’ Bird Hill.

Tra la la, tweedle dee dee dee
It gives me a thrill,
To wake up in the morning
To the mockin’ bird’s trill.

Tra la la tweedle dee dee dee
There’s peace and good will;
You’re welcome as the flowers
On Mockin’ Bird Hill

Leave a Reply

